Dr. Hilonga & the Nanofilter

Our partner Dr. Askwar Hilonga is an award-winning chemical engineer from Tanzania. He grew up in a small, rural village, without any access to clean drinking water. Waterborne diseases were omnipresent in his childhood. Many community members fought against the crucial consequences of contaminated water. These circumstances are not acceptable for Dr. Hilonga.

As a result, he developed the irrepressible desire to eliminate the water crisis. He specialized and receiver his doctorate in Nanomaterials. At the same time, he started to work on an innovative, low-cost water filtration system. Since then, the so-called Nanofilter received a lot of attention and has already changed many people’s lives.

“I want to be a millionaire. Not in terms of money, but in terms of millions of people I am impacting every day!” and “What does my PhD mean, what does all the fame mean, if I can’t use it to solve challenges for my people?” are just two of his quotes, which represent Dr. Hilonga’s drive and spirit.

The Nanofilter

The Nanofilter is an innovative water filtration system, which perfectly suites the usage in rural communities in Africa. As a consequence, Dr. Hilonga has already received eight national and international awards for the Nanofilter. One of these awards is the prestigious “Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation” of the Royal Academy of Engineering from the UK.

After extensive testing, the verdict of the jury was stunning. The jury chairman Malcom Brinded to the BBC News: “This innovation could change the lives of many Africans and people from all over the world”. The Nanofilter is already changing many lives in Tanzania.

Contaminated water is cleaned in three steps. First, a slow sand filter removes bacteria, viruses and other harmful microorganisms. Next, the toxin Fluoride, which is widespread in Tanzania is extracted. In the third phase a nanomembrane removes heavy metals, pesticides and other contaminants.

A unique feature of the Nanofilter is the ability to adapt the system to the local contamination. Since water sources in Tanzania contain different pollutants, calibrating the filter is extremely important. Before the filter is introduced to a community, Dr. Hilonga’s team test the local source. After testing and calibrating the filter, excellent water quality can be guaranteed.

Get to know more and support us

WATERSTATION

How do we empower locals through jobs, companies and opportunities?

SUSTAINABILITY

How do we create sustainable access to clean water in Tanzania?

SUPPORT US

Create access to clean water to one person by purchasing our handmade bracelets...

Dr. Hilonga und der Nanofilter

Unser Partner Dr. Askwar Hilonga ist ein preisgekrönter Chemieingenieur aus Tansania. Er ist in einem kleinen Dorf, ohne Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser, aufgewachsen. Für ihn und die gesamte Gemeinde waren wasserbürtige Krankheiten allgegenwärtig. Ein Zustand, der für Dr. Hilonga inakzeptabel ist.

Aus diesem Grund hat Dr. Hilonga sich das Ziel gesetzt, die Wasserknappheit zu bekämpfen. Er spezialisierte sich als Ingenieur auf Nanomaterialien und promovierte in diesem Gebiet. Zur selben Zeit fing er an, an einem innovativen Wasserfilter zu arbeiten. Der sogenannten Nanofilter hat mittlerweile für viel Aufmerksamkeit gesorgt und schon heute das Leben von vielen Menschen verändert.

„Mein Ziel ist es Millionär zu sein, jedoch nicht gemessen an Geld, sondern an der Anzahl an Menschen, die ich jeden Tag positiv beeinflusse.“ und „Was bringt mir mein Doktortitel, was bedeutet der ganze Ruhm, wenn ich damit keine Probleme löse?“ sind nur zwei seiner Zitate, die sehr gut seine Einstellung wiederspiegeln.

Der Nanofilter

Der Nanofilter ist ein innovatives Wasserfiltrationssystem, welches sich perfekt für den Gebrauch in ländlichen Gebieten Afrikas eignet. Aus diesem Grund konnte Dr. Hilonga schon acht nationale und internationale Preise gewinnen. Unter anderem wurde Dr. Hilonga und dem Nanofilter der „Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation“ der Royal Academy of Engineering aus Großbritannien verliehen.

Dort wurde der Nanofilter umfangreich getestet. Das Urteil der Jury war atemberaubend. Der Juryvorsitzenden Malcom Brinded zu BBC News: „Diese Innovation könnte das Leben von vielen Afrikanern, sowie Menschen auf der ganzen Welt positiv verändern“. Genau das tut der Filter schon heute.

Das kontaminierte Wasser wird in drei Schritten gereinigt. Zuerst entfernt ein Sandfilter Bakterien, Viren und andere schädliche Mikroorganismen. Als nächstes wird Fluorid, ein in Tansania weitverbreitetes Nervengift, ausgesondert. Bei der dritten Phase handelt es sich um eine Nanomembran, die Schwermetalle, Pestizide und andere Verunreinigungen entfernt.

Ein besonderes Alleinstellungsmerkmal des Nanofilters ist, dass er auf die lokale Verschmutzung des Wassers angepasst werden kann. Da jede kontaminierte Quelle in Tansania andere Verunreinigungen aufweist, ist die Kalibrierung des Filters immens wichtig. Bevor der Nanofilter in Betrieb genommen wird, testet Dr. Hilongas Team die lokale Wasserquelle. Danach wird der Filter auf die Verschmutzung eingestellt. Somit können wir eine hervorragende Qualität des Wassers garantieren.

Erfahre mehr und supporte uns

WASSERSTATION

Wie wir durch das Kreieren von Arbeitsplätzen Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe leisten..

NACHHALTIGKEIT

Wie kreieren wir eine nachhaltige Wasserversorgung vor Ort?

SUPPORTE UNS

Kreiere Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser durch unser Armband...